Poppa Palace

Take a pass. The basics of a decent hotel are here, but the bait and switch tactics made my stay disappointing.

Bills itself as luxury; at best it's a Budget Inn. I've stayed in 5 hotels in Thailand, this is the only one with a 19 inch cathode ray tube TV. Only one that charges for internet. Only one that the A/C won't cool the room. If you are a non-smoker, this hotel is for you; there are zero smoking allowed rooms, none. The bathrooms come with soap/shampoo--in industrial dispensers, not individual containers.

I studied long and hard on the hotels that I chose for this trip. I know I picked a smoking room, I've smoked for 35 years, it's not like I forgot. I also chose a hotel with free internet. Since I don't have internet, I can't check on what the advertisement said about the TV, but CRT is not luxury, it's 20th century tech. Poor A/C is not luxury. My room is actually warmer now, after sunset, than it was a hour ago. Bed is hard; better than a tile floor, but I've walked on softer carpets. Little bugs appeared on the second day.

I booked online and did a simulated purchase to see the final paperwork. I noticed that although I had chosen 2 adults in the room, that had revertedto 1 because I didn't include a second adult's name. When I wrote "other Traveler" in, a second adult was included.

When I addressed these issues with the front desk, before I'd even finished I got the tired line that I booked though an agency so blame them. The clerk acted like they've had these complaints often. Which indicates to me that they are deliberately delivering incorrect information to their agencies.